Purple Cap in IPL [2024]- Most Wickets in IPL 2024 List

Purple Cap in IPL 2024

Purple Cap is one of the most prestigious prizes for bowlers in IPL 2024. It is awarded to the bowler with the highest number of wickets in a given IPL season.

The player who holds the Purple Cap is the one who has consistently outperformed and shown his skills by taking crucial wickets throughout the tournament. It’s not just about the quantity but also the impact those wickets have on the course of the game.

Over the years, the Purple Cap has become a symbol of bowling excellence in the IPL. Bowlers who have donned the Purple Cap have etched their names in the league’s history, joining the ranks of cricketing legends. The likes of Lasith Malinga, Sunil Narine, and Dwayne Bravo have all been crowned with the Purple Cap, leaving an enduring legacy of their bowling brilliance.

1. Japrit Bumrah

Jasprit Bumrah, leading the Mumbai Indians’ bowling attack, has consistently demonstrated his prowess as a formidable force. Renowned for his impeccable line and length, Bumrah’s ability to deliver lethal yorkers in crucial moments sets him apart.

His talent for dismantling partnerships and providing crucial breakthroughs positions him as a top contender for the Purple Cap in the upcoming IPL 2024.

Looking ahead to IPL 2024, we can anticipate Bumrah continuing to bewilder batsmen with his deadly yorkers, making a significant impact in the race for the Purple Cap.

Here is the IPL career of Jasprit Bumrah in the last 5 Years:


2. Mohammad Shami

Mohammad Shami proved to be a standout performer in the bowling department, securing the prestigious Purple Cap with a display of outstanding skills and unwavering consistency.

As the top wicket-taker, Shami’s capacity to generate pace, seam movement, and execute precise yorkers established him as a dominant force throughout the tournament.

Consistently maintaining control over his line and length, Shami posed a constant threat to batsmen, employing a sharp swing and deceptive variations.

Here is the IPL career of Mohammad Shami in the last 5 Years:


3. Yuzvendra Chahal 

Yuzvendra Chahal’s mastery of the art of spin has consistently been a standout feature for the Rajasthan Royals.

His ability to bamboozle batsmen with deceptive variations and sharp cricketing acumen positions him as a formidable contender for the coveted Purple Cap.

Chahal’s repertoire of skills includes the subtle art of varying pace, flight, and spin. His strategic approach allows him to adapt seamlessly to diverse match situations, making him a go-to bowler for the team captain.

Here is the IPL career of Yuzvendra Chahal in the last 5 Years:


4. Rashid Khan

Rashid Khan is a strong contender to win the IPL Purple Cap. The Afghan leg-spin sensation has consistently showcased his ability to pick up wickets with his deceptive variations and remarkable control over his leg-spin deliveries. His performances in various T20 leagues, including the IPL, have established him as one of the premier spinners in the format.

Rashid’s unique skill set, which includes extracting turns from any surface and bamboozling batsmen with his unplayable deliveries, makes him a potent force in the bowling department.

Here is the IPL career of Rashid Khan in the last 5 Years:


5. Mitchell Starc

Mitchell Starc, the Australian pace sensation, certainly possesses the skills and firepower to contend for the IPL Purple Cap. Known for his express pace, lethal yorkers, and ability to swing the ball both ways, Starc has the attributes that can make him a leading wicket-taker in the tournament.

Starc’s aggressive and attacking style of bowling, coupled with his experience in various T20 leagues, makes him a formidable force in the IPL.

Here is the IPL career of Mitchell Starc in the last 5 Years:


Here is a table of all the purple cap winners in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL) with columns for year, player, team, and wickets taken:

2008Sohail TanvirRajasthan Royals22
2009RP SinghDeccan Chargers23
2010Pragyan OjhaDeccan Chargers21
2011Lasith MalingaMumbai Indians28
2012Morne MorkelDelhi Daredevils25
2013Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings32
2014Mohit SharmaChennai Super Kings23
2015Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings26
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad23
2017Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad26
2018Andrew TyeKings XI Punjab24
2019Imran TahirChennai Super Kings26
2020Kagiso RabadaDelhi Capitals30
2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore32
2022Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals27
2023Mohammad ShamiGujarat Titans28
Mohammad Shami172811/418.648.0313.92
Mohit Sharma142710/513.378.179.81
Rashid Khan172730/420.448.2314.88
Piyush Chawla162222/322.508.1116.63
Yuzvendra Chahal142117/420.578.1715.09
Tushar Deshpande162145/326.859.9216.23
Ravindra Jadeja162020/321.557.5617.10
Varun Chakaravarthy142015/421.458.1415.80
Mohammed Siraj141921/419.787.5215.78
Matheesha Pathirana121915/319.528.0014.63

Who will win the Purple cap in IPL 2024?

Jasprit Bumrah can win the Purple cap of IPL 2024.

Who won Purple Cap in IPL 2024?

Mohammad Shami won the purple cap in IPL 2024. He took 28 wickets in 17 matches in IPL 2024.

When was the Purple Cap introduced in the IPL?

The Purple Cap was introduced in the IPL in 2008, adding an extra layer of competition and recognition for outstanding bowling performances.

Who won the Purple Cap in IPL 2008?

Sohail Tanvir won the purple cap in IPL 2008. He took 22 wickets in that season.

What is the price of a Purple cap in IPL?

The winner of the purple cap in IPL is awarded with 15 Lakhs.